2017 TOY and ESPOY
Posted on 04/07/2017
Terri Franklin and Kelly Raby

April 7, 2017

2017 Teacher of the Year and Educational Support Person of the Year

At a gala event held at the Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa, Kelly Raby was named the 2017 Teacher of the Year for Calvert County Public Schools, and Terri Franklin was named the Educational Support Person of the Year.

Ms. Raby teaches students in the English for Speakers of Other Languages program at Windy Hill Elementary. She also facilitates professional development at Windy Hill and across the county to help teachers infuse the Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol (SIOP) into their instruction. SIOP, an instructional model that makes content material comprehensible to English Language Learners, unlocks academic language for native English speakers, as well. “Ms. Raby’s persistence, dedication and passion for helping students learn has changed the culture of teaching at Windy Hill Elementary,” said Principal Kelly Griffith. “Walk into any classroom, and you will see evidence of Ms. Raby’s teaching. Her impact has made each of us a stronger educator.”

Ms. Franklin, administrative secretary at Northern Middle, “keeps the school running like a well-oiled machine,” said her principal Jaime Webster. A Calvert County Public Schools employee since 1999, Ms. Franklin puts her wealth of experience to use as the first staff member who greets visitors when they arrive at Northern Middle. She cheerfully manages the main office, fields parent phone calls, helps teachers, and even volunteered to be a co-athletic director. Mr. Webster said, “She will do anything she can to help staff, students and community members.”

Ms. Raby will move on to the state-level Teacher of the Year competition. The 2017 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced in the fall.

The nominees from all schools in the district are:


2017 Teacher of the Year Nominee

2017 Educational Support Person of the Year Nominee

Barstow Elementary School

Ms. Kelli B. Short

Ms. Carin M. Fleshman

Beach Elementary School

Ms. Melanie L. Jester

Ms. Lavata J. Jones

Calvert Elementary School

Ms. Amanda M. Merillat

Ms. Piper E. Bagdovitz

Dowell Elementary School

Ms. Kathleen A. Bartley

Ms. Victoria L. Embrey

Huntingtown Elementary School

Ms. Tina M. Maslow

Ms. Susan S. Cox

Mt. Harmony Elementary School

Ms. Janice N. Wilson

Mr. Floyd D. Jefferson

Mutual Elementary School

Ms. Maria R. Van der Vossen

Mr. Damian R. Jones

Patuxent-Appeal Elem. Campus

Mr. John Taylor, III

Ms. Celeste S. Fort

Plum Point Elementary School

Ms. Patricia E. Tipton

Ms. Jodie L. Steffee

St. Leonard Elementary School

Ms. Leslie K. Thorne

Ms. Theresa C. Young

Sunderland Elementary School

Ms. Tracy E. McCulley

Ms. Melissa A. Russell

Windy Hill Elementary School

Ms. Kelly M. Raby

Ms. Brigette O. Ortenzo

Calvert Middle School

Ms. Amanda L. Tyndall

Mr. Taros F. Harris

Mill Creek Middle School

Ms. Susan M. Knott

Ms. Anna M. Gross

Northern Middle School

Ms. Margaret M. Connell

Ms. Terri L. Franklin

Plum Point Middle School

Ms. Wendy R. Bowen

Ms. Lisa M. Hancock

Southern Middle School

Ms. Staretta B. Benjamin

Mr. Eddie W. Richardson, Jr.

Windy Hill Middle School

Ms. Theresa A. Thole

Ms. Patricia A. Keefe

Calvert High School

Ms. Kristen P. Ratcliff

Ms. Julie A. Andrewlevick

Huntingtown High School

Mr. Daniel E. Boyer

Ms. Felicia D. Hall

Northern High School

Ms. Michelle K. O'Donnell

Ms. Pretreace L. Mackall

Patuxent High School

Ms. Lynn M. Powell

Ms. Lori J. Calvert

Career & Technology Academy

Ms. Alessia M. O'Dell

Mr. Bernard E. Sewell

Calvert Country School

Mr. Joseph A. Galarza

Ms. Shannon L. Sears

Central Office


Mr. Alexander Graham

The Teacher of the Year and Educational Support Person of the Year celebration is generously sponsored by the following businesses and organizations:


Bayside Toyota


Chesapeake Beach Resort & Spa

Educational Systems Federal Credit Union


Community Bank of the Chesapeake

The Optimist Club of Calvert Prince Frederick


Calvert County Chamber of Commerce

Crow Entertainment, LLC

Lifetouch National School Studios Inc.

Mathnasium of Dunkirk

The Paint Booth Guy, LLC


Fowler and Fowler Law, LLC

Thomas L. Hance Inc.

Idea Solutions

Quality Built Homes Inc.



Media Contact
Catherine Page

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.